An outside look?

Standard

There are still Deco shop fronts (or rather top halves) visible in many UK towns and cities: quite a number of those remaining were built for Woolworths or Burtons.

It helps that what I’m working on is, very obligingly, a box shape upon which, theoretically, it should be possible to add some Woolworth-style Deco hints.  I’m going to be leaning towards various features shown in the following buildings – and then go off ‘on one’ with some exaggerations of style here and there.

So far – rough faffing and twiddling around

The foamboard is cut higher than the roof line for three reasons:

  1. to allow a hidden space for the wiring/lighting socket strip
  2. to cut back various areas a little mimicking a bit of the style in the Dumfermline building
  3. somewhere to possibly add a store name board

All to be painted and shaded for a stonework look.  I had intended to mark up my own paper (above) for the stonework but I’ve given in and bought some ready printed paper which I’ll probably re-colour a little.

From the start of this project I’ve had the Lewis’s store on Briggate Leeds in mind; in particular the atmosphere of the restaurant they had in the 50s with its luxurious woodwork and carpet, potted palms and general feeling of warmth and welcome – including, I seem to remember, a small fountain set in front of the reception/cloaks desk.  I also recall their superb high chairs and round tables!  Sadly I’ve been unable to find any pictures old enough of the interior look.  I’ve tried with the room box department store to reflect those memories and feelings with a suitable carpet and striking woodwork, but, sadly no fountain (✿◠‿◠)

The imaginings and memories covered the internals, but for the outside I’m thinking less of the Lewis’s mix of stone and brick and more of the Greco/Roman mausoleum-bathroom tile style stonework.  Perhaps, though Bath stone would be a preferred colouring, I reckon.  We’ll see.

 

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.