Triang bookcase

Standard

Can you have a crush on a piece of furniture? 

I just may have one on the Triang bookcase.  It’s mostly to do with the ‘glass’ sliding doors.  We had a bookcase (full size and taller than wide) which had real glass doors with the cut in slots as handles for sliding the doors, and I was always fascinated by them as they seemed both clever and odd at the same time.  And here we have it in 1:16 and plastic (but with legs on – ours stood directly on the floor).  The Triang is a 1960s item, I believe, but I can easily persuade myself that it was following the styles of a few years earlier just so that I can squeeze it in to my time line.

In other business

Hearth for fireplace

—- ~ —

Talking about the chimney breast
and working sideways on a narrow room

Had great time fitting the finishing edgings for the chimney breast. Tried it from above and nearly fell in so it had to be done sideways.

 

theinfill art deco dolls house blog, theinfill dolls house blog, theinfill 1930s-50s Deco House, Hogepotche Hall –Hodgepodge Hall - Medieval Tudor Jacobean dolls house blog - finishing edges - dining room furniture

Room so far awaiting a carpet, not to mention skirting boards.  Not to mention a table, chairs, a TV etc. I have the Triang Bush TV but will not be using the table which came with it I think as far too low in a 1:12 house.  I do have a rather nice one instead though 😉

Lighting thoughts

  1. Practical

theinfill art deco dolls house blog, theinfill dolls house blog, theinfill 1930s-50s Deco House, Hogepotche Hall –Hodgepodge Hall - Medieval Tudor Jacobean dolls house blog - finishing edges - dining room lighting

I had cut tracks for the wiring to run under the floor in the dining room but decided that it was going to be so fiddly to take the floor up (tight fit) that am going to try a couple of battery lights; one table lamp and one ceiling. We’ll see what they look like

Second lighting thought

2. Not practical

Waiting for the hearth to dry, I took one of the wired ceiling lights I have and tried turning it into a table lamp.  It’s not practical because the top item I’ve used is a 50s button (shank removed) and I have no idea how flammable it is and don’t wish to risk it melting all over the place.  But it was fun.

Am now sitting under the letter box waiting for goodies to arrive.

 

4 responses »

  1. I just love it all, taking me back to early years, such memories. They must be a bookish family having a bookcase on the landing, we had books everywhere but not there (or the bathroom, obviously!)

    • Other than the one we had with a glass front which had v few books in it, bit of glass and silverware I think, we had one small bookcase but we used the library a lot. Now we have far too many books in almost every room of the house, almost 😉

  2. I remember those glass door bookcase from my childhood too. My mother used hers for storing china. I also recall that you had to slide the glass “just so” so that it didn’t catch in the tracks along the way.

Leave a Comment

