Two-way traffic space

Standard

Downstairs hallway

Planned in is a small corner just to the left of the front door, just where the removable house section breaks away.  It’s a semi landing at the foot of the stairs where the phone plus table and chair, various loose boots/shoes and coat pegs need to lurk.

I’ve played around, bought in, re-measured and re-planned but not found a satisfying combo of chair and table for the corner shape and still  leave breathing space for the imaginary folk to get up and down the stairs without climbing on the furniture.

Build one of them?

Well, I can’t build a chair but I’ve had a go at a sort of deco looking table affair attempting to blend with the hall stand across the hallway.

theinfill art deco dolls house blog, theinfill dolls house blog, theinfill 1930s-50s Deco House, Hogepotche Hall –Hodgepodge Hall - Medieval Tudor Jacobean dolls house blog - hallway and stairs telephone area

Shaping and shelving for the back of the phone table

theinfill art deco dolls house blog, theinfill dolls house blog, theinfill 1930s-50s Deco House, Hogepotche Hall –Hodgepodge Hall - Medieval Tudor Jacobean dolls house blog - hallway and stairs telephone area

Pencils and envelopes and room for telephone. There’s a vintage green one on its way which I hope is not too large for the space

And the landing itself has lots of room left for two figures to shimmy past each other there now.

theinfill art deco dolls house blog, theinfill dolls house blog, theinfill 1930s-50s Deco House, Hogepotche Hall –Hodgepodge Hall - Medieval Tudor Jacobean dolls house blog - hallway and stairs telephone area

The space with the narrow hanging but still got too large a wall light – I’m working on it …

 

6 responses »

  1. How good does this space look now?! A busy, homely corner. Your telephone table is the perfect solution and a stylish little piece. I love to watch you work.

    • Oh, Zoe if you really saw me ‘work’ you would be horrified by the way I faff around and get glue absolutely everywhere – you’d have to wear protective clothing!
      So glad you like the table – now I’m trying to suss out the chair. Want something that I can hang a scarf/hat/coat on and that looks relaxing to sit in but that spec mostly covers biggly things. Might stick with the china ‘wovern’ seat chair as in photo but not sure 😉

  2. I love your table with the little pocket for paper and pens. I find the hall quite difficult to decorate and furnish, I have changed the wallpaper twice in mine. It’s trying to get the homely welcoming balance, I think you have managed to achieve this.

    • Hallways being a through room as it were are a problem I think. I’ve used a paper here that I regret but can’t find one I want in its place and there it is going to stay 🙂
      I’m glad it’s getting welcoming. I’m going to scatter boots and outdoor clothing I think and make this through room a hazard to shipping!

Leave a Comment

