Still hiding from the hall banisters

Standard

Pootling around in the kitchen

Let’s continue with more woodwork mayhem.  I bought two cheaply produced but very strongly made kitchen cabinets both painted a dark green as it happens and which, thankfully, have mostly withstood my hacking about.  I do this because I can’t build a carcass strong enough in the first place so work backwards, as it were.

The second cupboard has ‘glass’ doors on the top half but is as Victorian/Edwardian in style as the first one.  This time I’ve split the top from the bottom, using one to  support the Belfast sink and the other as a wall cupboard.

And the first one?

Now badly painted to and with chrome painted curved handles to make it more like a 50’s hutch/kitchenette, is still in need of some TLC and actually finishing one way or another.

theinfill dolls house blog 1930s Deco House, Hogepotche Hall –Hodgepodge Hall - a Medieval, Tudor, Jacobean dolls house blog - kitchen dresser progressing

Getting there but needs finishing one way or another

The Cooker

theinfill dolls house blog 1930s Deco House, Hogepotche Hall –Hodgepodge Hall - a Medieval, Tudor, Jacobean dolls house blog - Jane Harrop cooker kit

Jane Harrop cooker kit with useful photo of finished product

I’ve gone for a cardboard kit cooker as didn’t want to use volatile paints and glues and couldn’t find a 1:12 one that fitted the bill for me.  The kit is from Jane Harrop and has wonderful instructions with very useful photos.  I think the hardest thing about it was getting it out of the packet!  I sat and looked at it for quite some time, I can tell you but eventually took the plunge.

Of course – I’ve fiddled around.

I wanted a better finish to it than I can achieve with a paint brush so I’ve invested in some coloured stick on film from Elf Miniatures.  I bought a couple of shiny ones and two matt finish.  My fancy was for a cream cooker with black trim and edges with heavier burners if possible and I was hoping that the sticky film would also give a slightly more rounded look to the front edges.  For some reason I see cookers a cuddly and prefer a little softer edge – don’t ask.  I did paint small areas and objects such as the grill pan etc.

I was concerned that I’d need to re-enforce the legs if weightier burners were going on and also I’d need to make a thicker top plate to hold them too.

I bought four burners online, perhaps I should only have used three as that seems quite common in the earlier cookers but used the four, crowding it a bit.

 

theinfill dolls house blog 1930s Deco House, Hogepotche Hall –Hodgepodge Hall - a Medieval, Tudor, Jacobean dolls house blog - Jane Harrop cooker kit - plate rack

The plate rack takes cardboard plates very well, though these are perhaps a little big for the rack – slightly smaller ones would be better as they’ll go further down

Finally, a possible colour scheme

theinfill dolls house blog 1930s Deco House, Hogepotche Hall –Hodgepodge Hall - a Medieval, Tudor, Jacobean dolls house blog - kitchen possible colour scheme

A bit of mix and match with 50s lino and wallpaper (well almost) and cupboards, fridge, sink and cooker from throughout the chosen period of 30s – mid 50s
The odd piece of paper on the floor is a print out of a possible table from Elf miniatures. I’ve a fancy for something jazzy and am trying out the look of it before buying – spoilt for choice and not sure which one to go for.

 

 

 

2 responses »

  1. I have Jane Harrop’s book ‘Thirties and Forties Miniatures in 1:12 scale’, it is a really good book. I did not realise that she sold kits as well. Visited her site and saw money flying out of my purse…..

    • Ah yes, I know the feeling well. Tried to buy the book but it’s holding quite a high price at the moment wherever I look – fortunately I came across the kits and now I have a want list for her website kits of beds, drop leaf table and chairs and am trying to resist one or two (or may be 5) other things too 😉

Leave a Comment

