What fun and games

Standard

Curved stuff
or
making a mess and sticking with it

 

Why?  I mean, “why?”

Lots of ‘why­s’ really:

  • There’s the basic one of why insist on a pelmet for an asymmetrical bay window just because I think it makes a room look cozier?
  • Why, as there’s definitely a need for some sort of skirting board to stop the walls fraying at the bottom edge, didn’t I buy some foam or just use foamboard strips?

I shall never know.  But this is what I’ve got and it looks like I’m sticking with it…

The curtains and pelmet?  Well… hopefully they may end up looking like a side issue to the rest of the room.

theinfill dolls house blog Hogepotche Hall –Hodgepodge Hall - a Medieval, Tudor, Jacobean dolls house blog - reshaping an Deco house - sitting room bay window area

This sort of asymmetrical bay often has curtains hanging from a bare pole (as has been fashionable now) or,  in more up-market accommodation, have the hanging paraphernalia sunk into the ceiling so that the drapes seem to flow into the room; but, for my idea of a standard, domestic 30s – 50s house it did look rather ‘non-homely’.

That, for the present, covers the excuse for the havoc of the pelmet I think.

And for the skirt?

At least the skirting will be hiding behind as much furniture as can be crammed into the bay, so that’s one comfort.

Yes there’s coving to go up too and another bay above – what to do, what to do?

I should just put my head in a bucket until any phase of this sort of thinking passes, but I never learn.

Back with you when the curve debacle has passed.

3 responses »

  1. It certainly is a difficult rounded corner to deal with but I have to say that your solution turned out looking GOOD to me.
    A rounded corner could not have been handled any other way. 🙂

    • I probably should have used some other material and faked it in to look like the other skirt. Am pondering if can do that for the coving in this room and certainly for both skirts and coving upstairs. I do these things to set myself a puzzle but sometimes I should check if it’s coming with an answer attached on the ‘back page’ as it were 🙂

Leave a Comment

