‘Listening’ a little more

Standard

Building a fantasy model or writing a tale?

The answer, I realise more than ever, is both.  By now this house has its own character and it’s been fighting to get a word in edgewise and write its own story over the whole roof/chimney/cupola thing.

I failed to listen.

It told me it wanted cupolas.  I tried three and decided probably not to use any.  Now I find I’m back with one, central(ish) as the building insisted.  (I’m still not convinced!)

How long did I put off building this roof?  Years, I think.  The need, or rather the demanded was for a complex hill and vale arrangement and I’d no idea how to go about it.  But here we are with so many valleys and flat sections that it’s just as well I use paper or card for the leads.

theinfill Medieval, Tudor, Jacobean 1:12 dolls house blog - the infill dolls house blog – brickwork detailing on chimney pots in place

Now, the chimneys were entirely my fault.  The house hadn’t established itself at the time the first chimney arrived and I was totally overcome by owning some of those lovely Tudor pots.  But it was not to be.

theinfill Medieval, Tudor, Jacobean 1:12 dolls house blog - the infill dolls house blog – brickwork detailing on chimney pots in place 2

It’s just possible that the house and I may be working together more over these three contentious areas.  Loads more to do still, but I’m ‘listening’.

Leave a Comment

