Getting messy again

Standard

Roof tiling’s hard on knees and feet!

Drama on high (well higher)
or we all take our pleasures in different ways

So there I am balancing on a small platform at the top of a short ladder, hands sticky with glue and knees pressed steady and feet planted firmly.  After half an hour things are starting to go dead circulation-wise and I can’t tell up from down as my focus has been in and on the same square eight inch area.

Self-inflicted pleasures?  Well, yes, very much so.  But there’s definitely only so much of this ‘pleasure’ you can do at any one time.

theinfill Medieval, Tudor, Jacobean 1:12 dolls house blog - the infill dolls house blog – many slopes of the roof 1

A bit at a time and this is as far as I’ve got. About halfway perhaps?

So far we’re about 750 tiles in and another 1k on its way in the post – I hope.  Probably will need another 500 at least after that and am also thinking of buying the proper ridge tiles instead of making own or using ‘spare’ roof tiles folded over.

Bending the tiles

The roof surfaces are far from level, some because of poor workmanship and some because I wanted a ripple look along so much tiling area.

I like to bend the tiles as I find they sit more steadily as I’m working along them.

Time to do a few more

Still got a few tiles left so can start on the dormer roof slope –  one of them at least – and hope that the supplies arrive soon 😉

Oh, and for anyone who wants to know I’m keeping the glue, tiles, scissors etc on the platform of an even higher ladder next to me.

 

Leave a Comment

