Drunk on thought

Standard

A switch from building to making

So far there’s a bed head

theinfill Medieval, Tudor, Jacobean 1:12 dolls house blog - the infill dolls house blog

Three pieces of moulding shaped for bed head panel

In having a go at the front middle bay of the attic I’ve hit a problem or two getting the look I’d like and, as usual it’s holding me up. I usually brood until a possible way forward hits me between the shoulder blades. So that is what I’ve been doing. Spending a lot of time moving bits of wood around and trying things out so that now I’m more than a little befuddled with thoughts.

I’d been determined not to buy any more furniture at the moment, only raw materials when necessary. This space is a bedroom and the beds I’ve got to hand each overwhelm the space involved.

Under the beam for the slope of the roof

theinfill Medieval, Tudor, Jacobean 1:12 dolls house blog - the infill dolls house blog - large and small bed heads

Bit of a difference in size. On right a small double on left home-made single.

Therefore it’s a bed that I’ve got to make, one way or another.

Now I’ve seen, in a number of historical houses, four posters built into very small spaces, tucked under the rafters and squeezed in between small air hole/window, four walls and an entrance so that there’s barely room to open the door and the troupe of tourists have to shuffle by in ones or peek round the door opening for a sneaky look. But all I’d like to see in this space under construction is a smallish, un-canopied bed fitting within the limited head room under the sloping ceiling and around which a few bits of set dressing can be placed. Not got that bed. Appalling at making furniture.

Harrumph

The gamble is whether I can fix the footboard so that the bed is horizontal and the two ends square to each other. Will it get completed or shall I just use a rectangular box with a footboard stuck on as the rest of the bed and dress it to the ground?  Dunno yet.

Leave a Comment

