Displacement activity – again. Again.

Standard

Things you should never do

I’m putting off the “fit the porch back in place” activity.  I’m still mulling over what’s changed since last it fitted.

As ever, when mulling, I start messing around.  And today’s no-no is retro-fitting some lights.  First I’ve added a small LED strip to the ceiling near the door of the porch, providing light to our seated gentleman and the boy with the broom.

theinfill – the infill – Tudor, Elizabethan, Jacobean Dolls House Blog – Front Porch - retro-fitting lights - LEDs

It’s probably as well to be able to see him from this side too.

But on the other side of the porch, not so good.

Sight-lines OK – but all is gloom

Making an LED less bright

The LED strip above James is a yellow one rather than bright white, but I’m finding it still too glaring.

theinfill – the infill – Tudor, Elizabethan, Jacobean Dolls House Blog – Front Porch - retro-fitting lights - LEDs

Too much of a searchlight look

It’s already stuck up there so now there’s a session of me on my knees looking upwards and painting the very small LED squares with white paint to reduce the whiteness of the light.

Still flare on the wall but much nicer shadows

theinfill – the infill – Tudor, Elizabethan, Jacobean Dolls House Blog – Front Porch - retro-fitting lights - LEDs

But I think it was worth it. A much more buttery, old painting, warm lighting look

I think I’ve come up with a way forward with the refitting of the porch, too.  So a worthwhile displacement activity all round.

6 responses »

  1. I just love watching this project develop. You’ve done some amazing work that would challenge some Hollywood special effects builders (and I know a couple of the best!). I’m really looking forward to seeing what you come up with next.

    • Er … this is v embarrassing. Thanks so much for the glowing praise but none of my hacking about stands up to closer scrutiny I can assure you. Thank goodness for blogging in that it gives the opportunity to discreetly light and angle photos to illustrate the text without totally giving away the game. I’d do get a kick out of playing with this model building and see it as my version of “telling the tale”. Great to hear from you and thanks again for your very kind words.

Leave a Comment

