As solid as a solid thing

Standard

Working on the first side wall

The front of this porch looks pretty solid, and solidly gothic at that.  I’m concerned that a beam and panel side to the building will look a little less solid – but I’m working on it.

Window

I had thought of using similar windows to those I used down the side of the original Great Hall, but I decided to have a go myself.

theinfill – the infill – Tudor, Elizabethan, Jacobean Dolls House Blog – Great Hall externals

Two 1:24 windows side by side, from Romney Miniatures

 Attempt at do-it-yourself

With a number of pieces of balsa strips lying around, I took the widest I had and hacked at it to make the halves of a sort of window shape.  I couldn’t get any two the same and the sixth one kept breaking.  Eventually there were six, mixed and wobbly, but I’ve used them as you can see above.  Hopefully the figures around and about that window will distract the eye enough for the scrappy frames not to be too big an issue.

However there’s another window

theinfill – the infill – Tudor, Elizabethan, Jacobean Dolls House Blog – Front Porch externals

Round the other side. This window is level, sort of at the bottom but the top looks as though it’s been hacked out with my teeth.

This means there’s another six none matching balsa bits to sort out and balance in place.  What fun.  I definitely can feel a displacement activity coming up.  I think I might give that mini spirit level a good wipe.  It looks as though it’s been rescued from the bin.

 

Leave a Comment

