Trying out more roof shapes

Standard

Cardboard castles in the air

But first an apology

I feel I must apologies for failing in yesterday’s blog entry to clearly state that all the roughly made 1:12 characters are intended to be male.  I do know that one or two felt that my attempt at a jokey post portrayed group violence against a female.  I suppose any attempt at a joke that involves violence is never going to be a successful one, even when it’s with miniatures.  These first attempts at air-drying clay characters are to be used in the porch of the Guild complex.  I can hear the thin ice of my thoughts as I type, cracking beneath me with every word that comes forth; it is quite possible that I am making matters worse in another direction, so I’ll leave it there, with sincere apologies to anyone who was offended.

The roof and a bout of clothes pegs

Another interim report

I’m using thin mount card to try out various combos of gable, valley and dormer.  Thus far I have this.

theinfill - Medieval to Jacobean dolls' house blog - 1:12 half legs - attics and roofing of Guild building comple

From the front with one dormer shape in place. There would be another to balance on the right and small windows in the mini walls below them.

theinfill - Medieval to Jacobean dolls' house blog - 1:12 half legs - attics and roofing of Guild building comple

Front and one side

The long white thing at the front is where a large window at ground floor and above will be.  It’s there to mark out what’s taken already and give a view of the probable width that will be left for the aforementioned porch, which will have a ground floor open space and a room above.

The plan came from … ?

I quite like the cruciform roof plan of a modern build Tudor home and am fascinated by the multiple valleys that can be seen in such period buildings as Gainford Hall in County Durham and Newton Surmaville in Somerset.  Some of these internal valleys have inward facing dormers which is something to think about.

What it will actually come out like, I’m still unsure as it needs to be a mix and match arrangement.  I would like the back facing roof to echo the roofing already done on the Great Hall, with dormers and blanked off gable end peaks.

theinfill - Medieval to Jacobean dolls' house blog - 1:12 half legs - attics and roofing of Guild building comple

Like this little one

Long way to go yet, but I’m thinking about it.  And worrying about    all    those    tiles …

 

 

2 responses »

Leave a Comment

