The Bigger Picture

Standard

Been hesitant to post what I’m up to overall, as unsure it will work or be worthwhile.  Really gone over the edge this time, both literally and metaphorically.

It’s about jetting

Work already stopped round the frontage when I reached the first floor (second for those who don’t use a ground floor to get into a building).  Thoughts had been “how big will the jetting be if it were real?”, “will 1 foot of reality jetting be worth it?”, “do I want it in the room or out?”.  All good existential conundrums, I’m sure, but basically pathetic as it’s only a model! That was when I looked again at the ground floor (1st floor) and started on the Great Hall extension – which I must say, has been thoroughly worthwhile diversion and a very enjoyable puzzle.  So far.

Now that has reached upstairs level and I’m flapping again.

Here I’d decided on quite definite jetting of 2-3 inches in various spots.  This is mostly inspired by (the fault of) images of Stokesay and its Great Hall upper add-ons, and my ever over reaching imagination over a mental storyline around the possible purposes for this upper room over one end of said Great Hall.  (The images link above can take quite some time to load but the pictures are worth it.  One interior shows the flooring beautifully interlaced at the corners as the planking changes direction – I’m assuming over the jetting.)

If you’ve seen any of the many images of Stokesay then you will know that it has quite a number of fiddly bits to contend with if you aspire to imitate any part of it.  Add to that an ambition to also add jetting at the top of the tower, and you will see what I mean by my ‘going over the edge’ comment.  And, oh, yes, it’s this roof that set me off trying to work out how all those slopes and pointy bits inter-related and whether it might be possible to use some vague version of them. (see –Roofing Fumbles)

Excuses, excuses

Each time I complete a small part of the work towards the ‘plan’ I back off and make some peripheral item – see Impressions of various sorts.  Now some of this was driven by domestic necessity and cat nursing, but mostly I’d have found an excuse anyway.

Today I’ve started the walls.  These are what have been stalling me.  Not the jetting or the windows.  It’s the prospect of all that plaster and wood work.  On both sides of the walls.  As you can gather, this is not a favourite pass-time of mine.

I’d better come clean and bring you up-to-date.

Inspiration then Practicality

(Google image search page – Stokesay)

Studying the real thing, (have a good look at it) there is no good way that I could make that many jetting support brackets, so I’m plumping for a pair of main ones to start me off and may add the odd small one later.

The floor area had been planned when the main ceiling/flooring piece was originally cut.  This gave the largest piece of overhang the stability of being attached to the main floor.  The smaller piece at the back was in the lap of the gods (particularly if it fell off).  As it happened, I decided to cut off the larger piece anyway.  When setting up the ceiling below and testing for seal/light leaks, I couldn’t get that edge to sit as comfortably as it would if it were not carrying the jetting too.  So off it went.

Anyone got sky hooks?

Measurements taken, markings made, the brackets, also measured and made, were affixed to the external wall and the platforms of the jetting offered up one at a time.  It’s good to leave the description short but I will add it involved kneeling around for a long time with my hands strategically placed on vital parts of the construction as the glue took in each case, whilst hoping beyond hope that I wasn’t moving every time I breathed.  Fortunately I’d taken to heart the old adage of measure twice (or in this case numerous times) and glue once.

I then left them supported from below and weighted at crucial points above for a couple of days to settle.

Click on mini images and they will open up as an overlay with back and forth arrows like a film strip
and/or
press Esc key when you want to get back to page view

Well, Id better go and get on with it.

Leave a Comment

