A benign reason for distorting truth

Standard

Making your imagination feel a little happier

This is the second (or is it third?) run at designing the layout of the ceiling for the Great Hall extra bit.

I’ve cut the lengths very roughly and they will need shaping.  As I am uncertain of the number of shades of the wood involved that will look OK-ish, I’ve taken pictures of the story so far.  But, of course the pictures are flat, square on and not upside-down and receding from the eye in the manner of a ceiling.  My solution for this, is as always,  to resort to playing with the computer using image manipulation software.

The argument for doing this

A different point of view on something you’ve been working on is always helpful.  Asking someone else’s opinion is not always so.  I find that if I can give my eye and imagination a peek from a fresh perspective (sometimes literally) that it re-energises my mind and speeds up the whole making process by providing possible outcomes to work towards.

Although I’ve had a go with two or three different software packages, I always return to Paint Shop Pro for more direct ease of use.  In this case I’ll first crop an image, then distort it to help provide an impression of a ceiling in place and then, to add insult to injury, play with the colouration.  I’ll do this to give me much the same effect as being able to tip my head sideways and squint at the subject under consideration in different lights.  And I find it very useful, particularly if the flat result makes me ‘haver’ around the possibility of scrapping the whole shebang and starting from scratch.

Benefits of using image manipulation when planning bits of a model

I’ve found the results, this time, have been most helpful.  The distortion is adequate to give something of a ceiling impression without me having to put my neck out in an inverted yoga stand, and the different colouration/artistic treatments have boosted my waning confidence to a point that I’m beginning to think that it might be a ‘runner’, with a little colour tweaking here and there.  I fear that it will also need a steady hand and no fit of sneezing to blow away all the little bits and bobs.  Steady breathing at all times, preferably behind locked doors.

Great Hall ceiling plan - again

Flat layout using roughly sized pieces of wood of different stain colouration and with the medallions painted bronze

Distorted Great Hall ceiling

Distortion of image above

Coloured pencil artistic effect to ceiling

Coloured pencil artistic effect to ceiling.  Gives the whole more of an homogenous look by moving to a drawn image effect.

Enameled artistic effect to ceiling

Enameled artistic effect to ceiling, giving even more of a story book look.  Also a useful increase in the wood effect and clearer idea of the relationship of the medallions to the surrounding wood bits.

Plain pencil artistic effect to Great Hall ceiling plan

Plain pencil artistic effect to Great Hall ceiling plan

This last one is my favourite as it really boosts my waning confidence in the layout.  It truly gives me an insight into a  possibility of a ‘look’, if I can darken off all the wood a little and achieve a closer harmony in tones of colour overall.

Tomorrow – must get the job(s) done.

2 responses »

  1. That is amazing, especially the last ‘sketch’ – it looks as though it was from an old etching or something similar.

    • Thank you most kindly, but it’s all the wonder of digital faffing. I was a little hesitant about posting this, considering what I’ve done with those lovely strips, but also because it is even further away than usual from the more trad doll’s house blog entry. But I do find that doing alternative points of view is very useful, particularly if you’re lucky enough to hit on an effect that adds the feel of time.

Leave a Comment

