The screen, the screen and nothing but the screen

Standard

We don’t want the little imaginary people to fall off the stairs, do we?

I’m building a ‘screen’ (well you’d never guess from the title would you?). It’s to edge the spiral staircase at mid-level as it rises above the Great Hall.  I fancied some Medieval/Tudor looking item with a bit of delicacy and possibly something vaguely heraldic without being too intrusive.  Subdued colouring echoing the mish-mash already present.  First flights of fancy were about something Alhambra-ish as Moorish influences were entering design during the extended period of the fantasy building.

But:

  1. Too small and cramped an area
  2. Would be too fragile for the curve
  3. Would possibly clash with the already heavily patterned Great Hall (parts I and II)

Having adjusted my aim, I’m enjoying putting together the elements I’ve selected to use.

Story so far in pictures but goodness knows if it will be what I can see in my head when in place.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Comment

